Focuses on the rhetorical emphases of audience, purpose, and context to allow communicators to shape their messages more appropriately to all channels and for all purposes. This title covers the topics in all forms of business communication.
Chemistry: The Molecular Nature of Matter and Change by Martin Silberberg and Patricia Amateis has been recognized in the general chemistry market as an unparalleled classic. The revision for the eighth edition focused on the continued optimization of the text.
In addition, research on pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, mechanism of action, potential interactions, and other critical topics has proceeded apace, rendering much of the information in existing guides obsolete. This new volume is both comprehensive and completely up to date, offering information unavailable elsewhere.
Hundreds of thousands of students and early-career professionals have relied on this authoritative report-writing tool, now updated for DSM-5/ICD-10-CM and newer types of evaluations. In a convenient large-size format, the book covers nearly all areas of concern addressed in intakes, evaluations, treatment plans, progress notes, and closing summaries.
With abundant examples - and just the right amount of sidebars and "highlights" - Criminal Justice, Fourth Edition, is an excellent resource for introducing students to the essential issues in the field. Visit the Companion Website for a wealth of student and instructor resources.
Criminology Today: An Integrative Introduction, 8/e, continues to offer students a clear, contemporary, and comprehensive introduction to criminology that encourages critical thinking about the causes of crime and crime-prevention strategies. The text’s hallmark thematic approach of social problems versus social responsibility (Is crime a matter of individual responsibility or a symptom of a dysfunctional society?) prompts students to think critically about the causes of crime and helps them see the link between crime theories and crime policies.
Explore the qualities of mind and spirit that are essential for those seeking to help others acquire knowledge and understanding. The text analyzes the specific qualities of successful teachers: learning, authority, ethics, order, imagination, tenacity, compassion, patience, character, and pleasure.
Authors Miller, Cross, and Jentz explain legal issues and court decisions in a way that pares down legal jargon while still conveying what you need to know to succeed in your course and in the legal environment.
The classic text is designed to help students recognize ethical issues and dilemmas, reason carefully about ethical issues, clarify their ethical aspirations at the level demanded by the profession, and achieve a more ethical stance in their practice. It places ethical decision-making within the context of professional ethics and provides practical guidelines, including three ethical screens.
Provides an extensive overview of the American criminal justice system in a concise and accessible format. The title includes contemporary data, case studies, and references for all topics and helps students understand the relationships between the police, the courts, and corrections.
Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 7th Edition provides a thorough and clear overview of the field, without overwhelming today’s I/O Psychology student. Newly updated for its seventh edition, author Paul Spector provides readers with (1) cutting-edge content and includes new and emerging topics, such as occupational health and safety, and (2) a global perspective of the field.
The title covers the history and theoretical foundations of black studies; the history of blacks in the US; black American society and culture, psychology, politics, economics, and arts; and science and technology's impact on shaping race and racism.
This seventh edition carries on the legacy while addressing some of the newer pressing and exciting challenges of the 21st century, such as issues of language and power, language ideology, and linguistic diasporas. Chapters on gender, race, and class also examine how language helps create - and is created by - identity.
Leadership in a Diverse and Multicultural Environment provides leaders with the tools necessary to effectively interact with all individuals. Effective leaders can shape the culture of their organization to be accepting of individuals from all races, ethnicities, religions, and genders with a minimum of misunderstandings. Although much of the research related to multiculturalism has focused on expatriates and international assignments, this text also includes research on leaders in domestic organizations.
Written by two expert teachers and based on astronomy education research, this workbook guides students through concepts, promotes quantitative literacy, and increases student confidence in their understanding of how the universe works.
Through an examination of the lives and ideas of the first three presidents, Morgan (emeritus, Yale U.) explores how independence came to be highly valued in the United States. The material in this book was originally presented in the form of lectures delivered at the U. of Virginia in 1975. This reprint contains a new preface by the author.
An introduction to organizational communication theories and their practical applications. Using the metaphor of creativity (getting what you want) and constraint (following established rules) this popular textbook offers students more opportunities than ever before to practice what they learn through a variety of features within the textbook itself and on its companion Web site.
Bringing the analysis to life and helping to demystify the process are discussions of recent and historic cases of policy making. Updated for this edition, these examples illustrate the diverse pressures, conflicting values, and competing for political objectives that are at play in actual policy-making situations and that often produce what seem to be unnecessarily complicated outcomes.
The Public Relations Strategic Toolkit provides a structured approach to understanding public relations and corporate communications. The focus is on professional skills development as well as approaches that are widely recognised as 'best practice'. Original methods are considered alongside well-established procedures to ensure the changing requirements of contemporary practice are reflected.
Featuring an emphasis on future consumers of psychological research and examples drawn from popular media, the text develops students' critical-thinking skills as they evaluate information in their everyday lives.
Social Psychology introduces students to the science of us: our thoughts, feelings, and behaviors in a changing world. Students learn to think critically about everyday behaviors and gain an appreciation for the world around them, regardless of background or major.
Uses the theme of debunking myths to look behind the facades of everyday life, encourages you to question common assumptions, and helps you better understand how society is constructed and sustained. the text provides exceptional coverage of diversity, including social factors such as age, religion, sexual orientation, and region of residence, in addition to race, ethnicity, class, and gender.
With a collection of 300 sources--each accompanied by an introductory essay and review questions--this two-volume primary source reader emphasizes the history of ideas. The Sixth Edition features additional sources by and about women, as well as new attention to documents dealing with social and cultural issues.
This comprehensive and practical survey examines the technical and design aspects of play production, including scene design and construction, lighting, sound, costume, and makeup. Design is presented as both an art closely integrated with the director’s, actor’s, and playwright’s vision, and a craft that provides practical solutions for the physical manipulation of stage space.
Packed with full-color photographs and examples straight from recent headlines, WRITING AND REPORTING NEWS: A COACHING METHOD, 8e uses tips and techniques from revered writing coaches and award-winning journalists to help you develop the writing and reporting skills you need to succeed in the changing world of journalism.