A Research Guide for History
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and History faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in History.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and History approved and are your best bets for researching most topics in History.
-
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 8,000 articles, biographies, primary documents, and media analyzing the contributions and challenges of African Americans throughout history.
-
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
-
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts that bring history alive for students and give library patrons hundreds of educational video titles they can view at home or in the classroom.
-
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
-
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Citations to over 240,000 articles and monographs dealing with all aspects of Muslim life and Middle Eastern studies, including history, economics, religion and theology, law, art and architecture, and philosophy. Also included are citations to conference papers and presentations, memorial volumes and collected essays.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our full list of historical research databases.
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
