Steely Library Research Guide

Check out this video -- The Top 5 Things every student should know about Steely. (1:58)

Support your learning

• UCAP Textbook Lending Library is a collaboration between Steely Library and University Connect & Persist (UCAP). Through this lending library, students are allowed to borrow textbooks for an entire semester. These textbooks can be checked out on a first-come, first-serve basis. Students can check to see if their textbook is available through the library catalog or stop by Steely Library’s Public Services Desk.
• Study rooms are reservable in Steely Library. You can reserve a study room for two hours a day and make your reservation up to two weeks in advance.
• Research Help services allow you to speak with a librarian in-person, over chat, or in an hour-long consultation.  
• Steely Library supports a citation tool to assist students with citing traditional sources in APA, MLA, or Chicago style.  

Enhance your learning

• Stego Studio Makerspace supports students who want to use maker technologies in their academic work. Stego Studio currently has 12 3D printers, 3D scanners, a laser cutter and engraver, and a Cricut to support academic projects. 
• Special Collections & University Archives supports research in the history of the northern Kentucky-Greater Cincinnati region. This department is especially rich in resources for regional and local history including both archival materials and secondary sources for education; African-American history; military, social and business history; politics and Appalachia.
• The Teacher Resource Collection is located on the fourth floor of Steely Library. This collection consists of P-12 curriculum, resource materials, and a collection of children’s and young adult literature.  

Enjoy your learning

• The Popular Reading Collection is located on the third floor of Steely Library. This collection contains current fiction and non-fiction title.
• The Wellness Collection features books on topics related to college habits, wellness, decluttering/organization, meditation, relationships and sexual health, healing and trauma, happiness, exercise, and mental health. The Wellness Collection is located on the 4th floor of Steely Library in The Wellness Space.

Steely Library's books are arranged by Library of Congress Subject Headings. Print books can be found on the 1st and 2nd floors of Steely Library.  Call numbers that begin with the first letter A-N are located on the 2nd floor of Steely Library. Call numbers that begin with the first letter P-Z  are located on the 1st floor of Steely Library. You can also search for print and eBooks via Steely Library's webpage (Books and Media tab of the main search bar). If you need additional assistance with locating books via Steely, use Steely Help .

Note: Each Steely Library subject specific guide has a very detailed list of subject headings. The full list of guides can be accessed here (simply choose the Browsing books in Steely tab in each guide).