Summary: Jeff Forret challenges persistent notions of slave communities as sites of unwavering harmony and solidarity. Though existing scholarship shows that intraracial black violence did not reach high levels until after Reconstruction, contemporary records bear witness to its regular presence among enslaved populations. Slave against Slave explores the roots of and motivations for such violence and the ways in which slaves, masters, churches, and laws worked to hold it in check.
Summary: Are you, like millions of Americans, caught in the happiness trap? Russ Harris explains that the way most of us go about trying to find happiness ends up making us miserable, driving the epidemics of stress, anxiety, and depression. This empowering book presents the insights and techniques of ACT (Acceptance and Commitment Therapy) a revolutionary new psychotherapy based on cutting-edge research in behavioral psychology.
Summary: This text contains information on enhancing the counseling process using a brain-based paradigm. Leading experts provide guidelines and insights for becoming a skillful neuroscience-informed counselor, making direct connections between the material covered and clinical practice. Chapters cover each of the eight common core areas in the 2016 CACREP Standards in addition to several specialty areas of the Standards. Detailed case studies, questions for reflection, quiz questions, and a glossary facilitate classroom use.
Summary: A leading voice and acting coach outlines a program for focusing one's energy in order to connect with others, discussing how to overcome negative patterns while managing the debilitating behaviors of others in order to bring positive qualities to the forefront.
Summary: This volume looks at the history of the idea of sin as it has influenced and shaped Western culture. Emphasis is placed on an inter- and cross-disciplinary approach. The word "sin" has come to transcend the theological and enter the common parlance in both media and society. This book is an examination of that idea. It discusses how the concept of sin evolved through the Middle Ages and into the modern era.
Summary: This is the amazing untold story of the Los Angeles sanctuary movement's champion, Father Luis Olivares (1934-1993), a Catholic priest and a charismatic, faith-driven leader for social justice. This compelling biography traces the life of a complex and constantly evolving individual, from Olivares's humble beginnings in San Antonio, Texas, to his close friendship with legendary civil rights leader César Chávez and his historic leadership of the United Neighborhoods Organization and the sanctuary movement.
Summary: This fourth edition of the Dictionary of Women's Biography includes women who have hit the headlines in the five years since the last edition - including Condoleezza Rice, Nigella Lawson, Paula Radcliffe, Brenda Hale and Tracey Emin. Historical coverage has been broadened in response to new research and our commitment to campaigning women worldwide is as strong as in the previous edition. Activists from Afghanistan, Africa, Australia, India, Mexico, the UK and the US are included in this edition.
Summary: In this detailed study, Terri Blom Crocker provides the first comprehensive analysis of both scholarly and popular portrayals of the First World War events known as the Christmas truce, from 1914 to the present. From books by influential historians to the Oscar-nominated French film Joyeus Noel (2006), this new volume shows how a variety of works have both explored and enshrined this outbreak of peace amid overwhelming violence.
Summary: This account of the Lakota Indians traces their rich and often surprising history from the early sixteenth to the early twenty-first century. Pekka Hamalainen explores the Lakotas' roots as marginal hunter-gatherers and reveals how they reinvented themselves twice: first as a river people who dominated the Missouri Valley, America's great commercial artery, and then -- in what was America's first sweeping westward expansion -- as a horse people who ruled supreme on the vast high plains.
Summary: This groundbreaking anthology brings together generations of Chicana scholars and activists to offer the first wide-ranging account of women's organizing, activism, and leadership in the Chicano Movement.
Summary: From bestselling author of the remarkable memoir, The Distance Between Us comes an inspiring account of one woman’s quest to find her place in America as a first-generation Latina university student and aspiring writer determined to build a new life for her family one fearless word at a time. “Here is a life story so unbelievable, it could only be true” (Sandra Cisneros, bestselling author of The House on Mango Street).
Summary: Received historical wisdom casts abolitionists as bourgeois, mostly white reformers burdened by racial paternalism and economic conservatism. Manisha Sinha overturns this image, broadening her scope beyond the antebellum period usually associated with abolitionism and recasting it as a radical social movement in which men and women, black and white, free and enslaved found common ground in causes ranging from feminism and utopian socialism to anti-imperialism and efforts to defend the rights of labor.
Summary: A revelatory account of the actions taken by the first president to retain his slaves in spite of Northern laws. Profiles one of the slaves, Ona Judge, describing the intense manhunt that ensued when she ran away.
Summary: The Civil War was just days old when the first enslaved men, women, and children began fleeing their plantations to seek refuge inside the lines of the Union army as it moved deep into the heart of the Confederacy. Drawing on an extraordinary survey of slave refugee camps throughout the country, Embattled Freedom reveals as never before the everyday experiences of these refugees from slavery as they made their way through the vast landscape of army-supervised camps that emerged during the war.
Summary: Most Americans believe that slavery was a creature of the South, and that Northern states and territories provided stops on the Underground Railroad for fugitive slaves on their way to Canada. In this paradigm-shifting book, celebrated historian Tiya Miles reveals that slavery was at the heart of the Midwest's iconic city: Detroit. In this richly researched book, Miles has pieced together the experience of the unfree - both native and African American - in the frontier outpost of Detroit, a place at the center of national and international conflict.
Summary: This book is the first English-language comprehensive history of early colonial Cuba published in the last 100 years. It covers a range of topics from the island's geological formation up to 1700: geography, indigenous inhabitants, first encounters between Europeans and Amerindians, the conquest and colonization of Cuba, demographic realities such as race, gender and social structure, and cultural developments such as transculturation, piracy and other forms of aggression, and slavery and sugar production.
Summary: A devout young boy, Andrew Evans had his life mapped for him: baptism, mission, Brigham Young University, temple marriage, and children of his own. But as an awkward gay kid, bullied and bored, he escaped into the glossy pages of National Geographic. Eventually ejected from church and shunned by his family, Evans embarked on an ambitious overland journey halfway across the world to Antarctica that would eventually led to a singular discovery on a remote beach at the bottom of the world.
Summary: This updated and expanded edition of Group Dynamics in Sport introduces readers to the most current theory and practice of group dynamics in sport teams. Material covered includes an analysis of the nature and development of groups; examination of group environment, structure, and cohesiveness; and discussion of team processes such as goals and communication.
Summary: This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed method research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.
Summary: Leadership is not about titles, status, and wielding power. A leader is anyone who takes responsibility for recognizing the potential in people and ideas, and has the courage to develop that potential. When we dare to lead, we don't pretend to have the right answers. We stay curious and ask the right questions. We don't see power as finite and hoard it. We know that power becomes infinite when we share it with others. We don't avoid difficult conversations and situations.
Summary: We know why diversity is important, but how do we drive real change at work? Diversity and inclusion expert Jennifer Brown provides a step-by-step guide for the personal and emotional journey we must undertake to create an inclusive workplace where everyone can thrive.
Summary: This landmark book, by Edwin P. Hollander, highlights the leader-follower relationship as central to effective leadership. Inclusive Leadership is a process of active followership emphasizing follower needs and expectations, with the guiding principle of "Doing things with people, not to people," in a two-way influence relationship. The book provides strong theoretical and empirical guidance for leadership development and includes many of Hollander's key original papers.
Summary: Provides an in-depth analysis of the role lean production has played in Toyota’s success. Traces the evolution of lean production and discusses how it works in factory operations, product development, supply-system coordination, customer relations, and management. Examines how lean production is spreading across the world and to other industries, and considers the barriers that are preventing companies from becoming lean. Revised with a new foreword and afterword.
Summary: The authors analyze the emergence, growth and contours of the concept of intersectionality and show how the framework speaks to topics as diverse as human rights, neoliberalism, identity politics, immigration, hip hop, global social protest, diversity, digital media, Black feminism in Brazil, violence and World Cup soccer. Accessibly written and drawing on a plethora of lively examples to illustrate its arguments, the book highlights intersectionality's potential for understanding inequality and bringing about social justice oriented change.
Summary: Thought leaders examine social justice counseling from a global perspective in the latest edition of this pioneering book. Part 1 examines the historical and contemporary context of social justice counseling. Part 2 presents ideas for promoting social justice and challenging oppression and marginalization with individual clients and communities.
Summary: The authors of How Technology Is Changing Human Behavior: Issues and Benefits show that human behaviors and thinking skills are rapidly being reprogrammed by technology, with even more developments on the horizon sure to further alter our future and shape our identity.
Summary: Belonging at Work empowers business leaders, change agents, visionaries, and those on their way to joining them with the knowledge, skills, and confidence to build inclusive organizations. The personal stories, case studies, and practical strategies featured in the book offer everything you need to cultivate workplace cultures where all of your stakeholders can show up authentically and feel valued and respected. Rhodes Perry's visionary book serves as a blueprint for the future of work.
Summary: Rethinking Sexism, Gender, and Sexuality is filled with inspiring, from-the-ground stories about practical ways to include LGBTQ content in curriculum, make it a part of an approach to social justice, and create classrooms and schools that nurture all children and their families.
Summary: Using bisexuality as a frame, Go the Way Your Blood Beats questions the division of sexuality into straight and gay, in a timely exploration of the complex histories and psychologies of human desire.
Summary: Drawn from the life narratives of more than seventy African American queer women who were born, raised, and continue to reside in the American South, this book powerfully reveals the way these women experience and express racial, sexual, gender, and class identities--all linked by a place where such identities have generally placed them on the margins of society.
Summary: LGBTQ Stats chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing the critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. Deschamps and Singer provide chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities.
Summary: This compelling book recounts the history of black gay men from the 1950s to the 1990s, tracing how the major movements of the times--from civil rights to black power to gay liberation to AIDS activism--helped shape the cultural stigmas that surrounded race and homosexuality. In locating the rise of black gay identities in historical context, Kevin Mumford explores how activists, performers, and writers rebutted negative stereotypes and refused sexual objectification.
Summary: Ivan Coyote is a celebrated storyteller and the author of ten previous books, including Gender Failure (with Rae Spoon) and One in Every Crowd, a collection for LGBT youth. Tomboy Survival Guide is a funny and moving memoir told in stories, about how they learned to embrace their tomboy past while carving out a space for those of us who don't fit neatly into boxes or identities or labels.
Summary: The story of Christine Jorgensen, Americas first prominent transsexual, famously narrated trans embodiment in the postwar era. Her celebrity, however, has obscured other mid-century trans narratives-ones lived by African Americans such as Lucy Hicks Anderson and James McHarris. Their erasure from trans history masks the profound ways race has figured prominently in the construction and representation of transgender subjects.
Summary: When their daughter Rosie was born, Eric and Stephani Lohman found themselves thrust into a situation they were not prepared for. Born intersex--a term that describes people who are born with a variety of physical characteristics that do not fit neatly into traditional conceptions about male and female bodies--Rosie's parents were pressured to consent to normalizing surgery on Rosie, without being offered any alternatives despite their concerns.
Summary: Chef José Andrés arrived in Puerto Rico four days after Hurricane Maria ripped through the island. The economy was destroyed and for most people there was no clean water, no food, no power, no gas, and no way to communicate with the outside world. Andrés addressed the humanitarian crisis the only way he knew how: by feeding people, one hot meal at a time.
Summary: Fieseler chronicles the event that claimed the lives of thirty-one men and one woman on June 24, 1973, at a New Orleans bar, the largest mass murder of gays until 2016. Relying on access to survivors and archives, Fieseler creates a portrait of a closeted, blue-collar gay world that flourished before an arsonist ignited an inferno that destroyed an entire community.
Summary: A journalist chronicles the next chapter in civil rights—the story of a movement and a nation, witnessed through the poignant and inspiring experiences of five young undocumented activists who are transforming society’s attitudes toward one of the most contentious political matters roiling America today: immigration.
Summary: From wired campuses to smart classrooms to massive open online courses (MOOCs), digital technology is now firmly embedded in higher education. Minds Online is a concise, nontechnical guide for academic leaders and instructors who seek to advance learning in this changing environment, through a sound scientific understanding of how the human brain assimilates knowledge.
Summary: This whimsical little book combines the science of storytelling with a step-by-step method for parents, grandparents, educators, and anyone interested in a lasting relationship with children. Storytelling helps children build empathy and remember life lessons. It hones their concentration, boosts their vocabulary, and expands their imaginations. Most importantly, storytelling fosters the connection between parent and child. It also happens to be a lot of fun.
Summary: How Humans Learn aims to peer behind the curtain and survey research in fields as diverse as developmental psychology, anthropology, and cognitive neuroscience for insight into the science behind learning. The result is a story that ranges from investigations of the evolutionary record to studies of infants discovering the world for the first time, and from a look into how our brains respond to fear to a reckoning with the importance of gestures and language.
Summary: The fear of campus sexual assault has become an inextricable part of the college experience. Drawing on the Sexual Health Initiative to Foster Transformation (SHIFT) at Columbia University, the most comprehensive study of sexual assault on a campus to date, Jennifer S. Hirsch and Shamus Khan present an entirely new framework that emphasizes sexual assault's social roots, transcending current debates about consent, predators in a 'hunting ground,' and the dangers of hooking up.
Summary: A thoughtfully constructed syllabus can be transformative for your students' learning, communicating the path they can take to succeed. This book demonstrates how, rather than being a mundane document to convey policies, you can construct your syllabus to be a motivating resource that conveys a clear sense of your course's learning goals, how students can achieve those goals, and makes evident your teaching philosophy and why you have adopted the teaching strategies you will use, such as discussion or group activities.
Summary: Introducing the elements of measurement and assessment that are essential to good teaching, this title provides crystal clear step-by-step instruction on such topics as constructing test questions, aligning assessment with learning goals, and interpreting standardized tests.
Summary: Clinicians and students will find insights into both why student athletes experience many of the issues they do as well as the steps that counselors can take to help these individuals and their families. Grounded in research and pioneering in its analysis of sports psychology for students in grades K-12, School Counseling and the Student Athlete is a must-have book for school counselors, clinicians, and other professionals who work with elementary and secondary students.
Summary: The new edition provides a systematic and accessible computational geometric analysis of the musical rhythms of the world. New chapters cover meter and metric complexity; rhythmic grouping; expressive timbre and timing in rhythmic performance; and evolution phylogenetic analysis of ancient Greek paeonic rhythms.
Summary: Concrete takes a fresh look at the world's most versatile and abundant building material. It features familiar projects from Le Corbusier and Frank Lloyd Wright alongside work from Zaha Hadid, Herzog & de Meuron, and many lesser-known newcomers.
Summary: An inspiring, surprising and fun collection of mobile, portable and moveable architecture including houseboats, caravans, tents and huts for deserts, oceans, beaches, mountains and cities that demonstrate the exciting possibilities for life on the move. Mobitecture includes structures powered by motorbike, bicycle, mobility scooter, ski, car, tractor, donkey, shopping trolley, sled as well as human hands and feet.
In One-Man Show, Michael Schreiber chronicles the storied life, illustrious friends and lovers, and astounding adventures of Bernard Perlin through no-holds-barred interviews with the artist, candid excerpts from Perlin's unpublished memoirs, never-before-seen photos, and an extensive selection of Bernard Perlin's incredible public and private art.
Summary: Originally slated for publication in the 2000s, Spann's Unfinished and Unbroken: The Life of Artist Gilbert Wilson is an authoritative and expansive look at Wilson's life and art, edited by the careful and committed Robert K. Elder.
Summary: This showcases twenty-nine artists moving through the narrow space that is gay or straight, biological or social, craft and fine art and doing so explicitly through their work in fiber and textile. Loaded with gender connotations and power hierarchies, fiber-based handicrafts provide a fitting platform for examining tastes, roles, and relationships socialized within and around gay and lesbian culture.
Summary: Anni Albers (1899-1994), a textile designer, weaver, writer and printmaker, was among the leading pioneers of twentieth-century modernism. In 2018, a groundbreaking exhibition, together with this accompanying publication presents Albers's most important works to fully explore and redefine her contribution to twentieth-century art and design, and highlight Albers's significance as an artist in her own right.
Summary: This book is a topical resource that provides a comprehensive look at the most influential women in Hollywood cinema across a wide range of occupations rarely found together in a single volume.
Summary: "This book offers the reader the best example of how a great idea can, eventually, create a revolution and change a whole community. I met Frank Cruz years ago on the streets of Los Angeles. He witnessed the Latino wave from its beginnings. Frank is a pioneer, a creator, and a fantastic journalist. I doubt he ever expected to be writing his own story. But, if you want to understand us, read this book."
Jorge Ramos, Journalist and Author
Summary: Rusty Brown is a fully interactive, full-color articulation of the time-space interrelationships of three complete consciousnesses in the first half of a single midwestern American day and the tiny piece of human grit about which they involuntarily orbit.
Summary: The #1 post-reality generation device approved for home use! This manual will prepare you to travel from multiverse to multiverse. No experience is required. Choose from twenty-five preset post-realities! Rejoice at obstacles unquestionably bested and conflicts efficiently resolved. Bring denouement to your drama with the foolproof augmentation device for our contemporary utopia.
Summary: Joy Bergman is not slipping into old age with the quiet grace her children would prefer. She won't take their advice, and she won't take an antidepressant. Her marriage has lasted through health and dementia, as well as some phenomenally lousy business decisions. When her husband dies, an ardent suitor from Joy's college days reappears and Joy suddenly becomes as willful and rebellious as her own kids.
Summary: A dazzling novel of friendship and redemption in the face of tragedy and loss set in 1980s Chicago and contemporary Paris. In 1985, as Yale Tishman's career begins to flourish as the development director for an art gallery in Chicago, the carnage of the AIDS epidemic grows around him. One by one, his friends are dying. While staying with an old friend, a famous photographer who documented the Chicago crisis, she finds herself finally grappling with the devastating ways AIDS affected her life and her relationship with her daughter.
Summary: Within this dizzying investigation into the mystery of death is another mystery: who is the companion igniting these memories? This enigmatic novel blurs the line between fiction and nonfiction, story and eulogy, poetry and obituary. Wry yet somber, astringent yet tender, The Disintegrations confronts both the impossibility of understanding death and the timeless longing for immortality.
Summary: Database Concepts offers students practical help creating and managing small databases. The text focuses on database concepts, rather than features and functions of a particular product, making it flexible enough to work with the instructor’s preferred software. Data sets for three sample databases run throughout portions of the text so students can practice working with complete databases.
Summary: Quantum computing and quantum information are two of the fastest growing and most exciting research fields in physics. Entanglement, teleportation and the possibility of using the non-local behavior of quantum mechanics to factor integers in random polynomial time have also added to this new interest. This book supplies a huge collection of problems in quantum computing and quantum information together with their detailed solutions, which will prove to be invaluable to students as well as researchers in these fields.
Summary: Talking about Leaving Revisited discusses findings from a five-year study that explores the extent, nature, and contributory causes of field-switching both from and among "STEM" majors, and what enables persistence to graduation.
Summary: The new edition of Discrete Wavelet Transformations continues to guide readers through the abstract concepts of wavelet theory by using Dr. Van Fleet’s highly practical, application-based approach, which reflects how mathematicians construct solutions to challenges outside the classroom. By introducing the Haar, orthogonal, and biorthogonal filters without the use of Fourier series, Van Fleet allows his audience to connect concepts directly to real-world applications at an earlier point than other publications in the field.
Summary: The material has been selected from the past twenty years' examination questions for graduate students at University of California at Berkeley, Columbia University, the University of Chicago, MIT, State University of New York at Buffalo, Princeton University and University of Wisconsin.
Summary: This is a compilation of carefully selected questions at the PhD qualifying exam level, including many actual questions from Columbia University, University of Chicago, MIT, State University of New York at Buffalo, Princeton University, University of Wisconsin and the University of California at Berkeley over a twenty-year period. Topics include geometrical optics, quantum optics, and wave optics.
Summary: With this accessible, introductory guide, you will quickly learn how to use and apply optical spectroscopy and optical microscopy techniques. Focusing on day-to-day implementation and offering practical lab tips throughout, it provides step-by-step instructions on how to select the best technique for a particular application, how to set up and customize new optical systems, and how to analyze optical data.
Summary: In this sweeping and accessible book, Martin J. S. Rudwick, the premier historian of the Earth sciences, tells the gripping human story of the gradual realization that the Earth's history has not only been unimaginably long but also astonishingly eventful. Though the story of the Earth is inconceivable in length, Rudwick moves with grace from the earliest imaginings of our planet's deep past to today's scientific discoveries, proving that this is a tale at once timeless and timely.
Summary: A Scottish gentleman farmer, Hutton's observations on his small tract of land led him to a theory that directly contradicted biblical claims that the Earth was only 6,000 years old. This expertly crafted narrative tells the story not only of Hutton, but also of Scotland and the Scottish Enlightenment, including many of the greatest thinkers of the age, such as David Hume and Adam Smith.
Summary: This armchair guide to the making of the geologic record shows how to understand messages written in stone. Fulbright Scholar Bjornerud takes the reader along on an eye-opening tour of Deep Time, explaining what we see and feel beneath our feet. Both scientist and storyteller, Bjornerud uses anecdotes and metaphors to remind us that our home is a living thing with lessons to teach. She shows how our planet has long maintained a delicate balance, and how the global give-and-take has sustained life on Earth through numerous upheavals.
Summary: It took centuries of scientific effort--and a lot of luck--to discover and establish the diversity of dinosaur species we now know. In this book, Donald R. Prothero tells the fascinating stories behind the most important fossil finds and the intrepid researchers who unearthed them. In twenty-five vivid vignettes, he weaves together dramatic tales of the dinosaur discoveries with what modern science now knows about the species to which they belong.
Summary: An entertaining and rigorous history of the transitional forms and series found in the fossil record. Its engaging narrative of scientific discovery and well-grounded analysis has led to the book's widespread adoption in courses that teach the nature and value of fossil evidence for evolution. Evolution tackles systematics and cladistics, rock dating, neo-Darwinism, and macroevolution.
Summary: A state-of-the-science view, this volume includes comprehensive coverage of dinosaur systematics, reproduction, and life history strategies, biogeography, taphonomy, paleoecology, thermoregulation, and extinction. Forty-four specialists on the various members of the Dinosauria contribute definitive descriptions and illustrations of these magnificent Mesozoic beasts.
Summary: The goal of this second edition is to provide a self-contained, comprehensive overview of the fundamentals of optical microscopy, targeted to graduate and upper-level undergraduate students, and to researchers in the field in general. This second edition is more rigorous than the first, and its foundations are better solidified.
Summary: The author is ready to assert that practically none of the readers of this book will ever happen to deal with large doses of radiation. But the author, claims that any readers of this book, regardless of gender, age, financial situation, type of professional activity, and habits, are actually exposed to low doses of radiation throughout their life. This book is devoted to the effect of small doses on the body.
Summary: "Awareness of movement potential," says author Jo Ann Staugaard-Jones, "is key to a healthy body and injury prevention." The Anatomy of Exercise & Movement shows readers how to gain that awareness by understanding the biomechanics of movement.
Summary: The sixth edition of Medical Terminology Simplified helps you build a medical vocabulary frame by frame as you explore each body system through the major combining forms, a comprehensive pathology section, and medical records and evaluations, complemented by true-to-life artwork.
Summary: This is the only book for new and mid-career faculty that delivers practical, evidence-based strategies for physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and other clinical professionals teaching in advanced health provider education programs. The text disseminates inter-professional teaching and learning strategies that can be used across advanced clinical disciplines. It also features sample curricula and syllabi, lecture tips, evaluation strategies, and in-depth information about state-of-the-art technology and virtual classrooms.
Summary: From the creator of and inspired by the seminal documentary of the same name--an Oscar nominee--the definitive history of the successful battle to halt the AIDS epidemic, and the powerful, heroic stories of the gay activists who refused to die without a fight. Intimately reported, this is the story of the men and women who, watching their friends and lovers fall, ignored by public officials, religious leaders, and the nation at large, and confronted with shame and hatred, chose to fight for their right to live.
The second edition of Neuroscience for Counselors and Therapists: Integrating the Sciences of the Mind and Brain presents students with an accessible, insightful discussion of the virtues and vices of integrating neuroscience into existing models of counseling practice. The text boasts an emphasis on practical application, helping readers better understand the relationship between particular theories and neuroscience, then offering guidance as to how they can incorporate this knowledge into personal practice.
Summary: Be prepared to offer not only the physical rehabilitation regimen injured athletes need, but also the psychological and psycho-social support they need to recover from injuries. You'll develop an understanding of the research that underlies practice, and see how sports psychology is applied in clinical practice.
Summary: This current and comprehensive handbook will guide educators, students, and clinicians in developing the awareness, knowledge, and skills necessary to work effectively with LGBTQI+ populations. Twenty-five chapters written by experts in the field provide direction for working with clients in an authentic, ethical, and affirmative manner that is tailored to their individual strengths, needs, and identity.
Summary: A therapist who treats LGBTQ clients need to be more than just "gay friendly." Clinical experience, scientific research, and cultural understanding are advancing rapidly, and the task of being "LGBTQ informed" is ever-changing in today's world. This book covers topics such as how to avoid making the common mistake of believing that "a couple is a couple;" how to treat clients struggling in "mixed" orientation marriages and relationships; and how to work with all clients who have non-heteronormative sexual behaviors and practices.
Summary: The handbook helps clinicians and students learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis improve their skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by providing a variety of approaches. These include a six-step diagnostic framework, 29 bottom-up 'decision trees', and 66 differential diagnosis tables for use once a tentative diagnosis has been made. It offers a solution to differential diagnosis that recognizes the complexity of human personality and the structural utility of the DSM-5 classification.
Summary: This authoritative, best-selling text presents the latest skills and techniques for handling crisis situations. The authors' task model clearly illustrates and elucidates the process of dealing with people in crisis, from defining the problem to obtaining commitment.
Summary: Featuring more than 225 user-friendly handouts and worksheets, this is an essential resource for clients in dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) skills training groups or individual therapy. All of the handouts and worksheets discussed in Marsha M. Linehan's DBT Skills Training Manual, Second Edition, are provided, together with brief introductions to each module written expressly for clients.
Summary: An expert on traumatic stress outlines an approach to healing, explaining how traumatic stress affects brain processes and how to use innovative treatments to reactivate the mind's abilities to trust, engage others, and experience pleasure.
Summary: From Marsha M. Linehan, the developer of dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), this comprehensive resource provides vital tools for implementing DBT skills training. The teaching notes and reproducible handouts and worksheets used for over two decades by hundreds of thousands of practitioners have been significantly revised and expanded to reflect important research and clinical advances.
Summary: Medical Conditions in the Athlete equips health care providers with information they need to develop a framework for decision making when working with injured and recovering athletes and active populations.
Summary: Aimed at all athletic trainers, and those who are studying to move into the profession, Management Strategies in Athletic Training, 5th Edition addresses the many administrative and managerial challenges they are likely to face.
Summary: Experience the raw energy and aesthetic beauty of dance as you perfect your technique with Dance Anatomy. Featuring hundreds of full-color illustrations, Dance Anatomy presents more than 100 of the most effective dance, movement, and performance exercises, each designed to promote correct alignment, improved placement, proper breathing, and prevention of common injuries.
Summary: Acute and Emergency Care in Athletic Training teaches students how to recognize and manage emergency conditions so they can provide appropriate patient care between the field and the emergency department. The book is one of the first texts to align with the competencies outlined in the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE) 2020 standards.
This text shows readers how to apply groundbreaking psychological techniques to enhance sports rehabilitation programs. It helps answer such questions as: How do I motivate my patients during therapy sessions? How can my patients maintain a positive attitude in the face of pain and slow progress? What can I do to facilitate the rehabilitation process for my patients?
Summary: Provides applications of pharmacological principles specifically aimed at the athletic trainer. The drug categories that are included are primarily those that may be pertinent to the treatment of athletic injuries or that may affect athletic performance. This edition includes specific discussion of the role of the athletic trainer regarding the therapeutic use and effects of these drugs.
Summary: Learners are accessing and organizing information much differently than they did only a few years ago. Technology has changed the way students learn and educators teach. The updated Innovative Teaching Strategies in Nursing and Related Health Professions, Eighth Edition details the trends in teaching strategies and educational technology that promote effective learning for today's students.
Summary: Since its establishment 150 years ago as the world's first urban subway, the London Underground has continuously set a benchmark for design that has influenced transit systems from New York to Tokyo, Moscow to Paris and beyond. This is a comprehensive history of one of the world's most celebrated design achievements, and of the visionaries who brought it to life.
Summary: Putting Library Assessment Data to Work brings together key library assessment methodologies detailing how they can be used to improve an academic library. The book takes common sources of data that academic libraries will already be collecting, and presents simple qualitative and quantitative techniques that can be used to evaluate and assess their services, both in detail and overall.
Summary: A Practical Approach for the 21st Century is an introductory text on the nonprofit sector and nonprofit organizations. It provides an overview of the history, theory, and scope of the nonprofit sector. It discusses issues facing nonprofits, such as legal and regulatory issues, ethics, quality, fiscal, and liability issues. It also provides practical guidelines for writing mission and vision statements, strategic planning, hiring, firing, lobbying, communicating, using the Internet, and other functions of nonprofit organizations.
Summary: Frost and Deal’s General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry gives students a focused introduction to the fundamental and relevant connections between chemistry and life. Emphasizing the development of problem-solving skills with distinct Inquiry Questions and Activities, this text empowers students to solve problems in different and applied contexts relating to health and biochemistry.
Summary: Known for versatility, comprehensiveness, and persistent innovation, Macroeconomics has remained one of the most trusted and reliable choices for principles of economics courses. The 21st edition continues to benefit from author Sean Flynn's influence with new discussion on strategic behavior, game theory, unconventional monetary policy and interest rate normalization.
Summary: Completely updated to reflect advances, the book describes the role of both disciplines and interdisciplinarity within the academy, and how these have evolved. Authors Allen F. Repko, Rick Szostak, and Michelle Phillips Buchberger effectively show students how to think like interdisciplinarians in order to facilitate their working with topics, complex problems, or themes that span multiple disciplines.
Summary: Builds on the decades of success of other Strahler geography texts while incorporating coverage of new developments in the discipline as well as exciting new multimedia and pedagogy to bring physical geography to a new audience.
Summary: Japan in the Twenty-first Century examines the natural features of this island nation, which have greatly impacted the Japanese people, and explores how the country's social, economic, and political structures have affected Japan's global role in this century.
Summary: A Short Guide to Writing about History is an ideal complement for any history course intended to teach students to think and write like historians. This engaging and practical text will teach students how to go beyond reporting the basic dates and facts of their history books and show them how to infuse their writing with their own ideas and unique perspective.
Summary: A people is born -- The power of the word -- The shaping of traditions -- The crucible of Europe -- The search for deliverance -- Roads from the ghetto -- The golden land -- Out of the ashes --Into the future.
Summary: 1. Israelite Origins and Kingdom 2. Judea and the Origins of the Dispora 3. Roman Palestine and Sassanid Babylonia 4. The Jews in the Islamic World: From the Rise of Islam to the End of the Middle Ages 5. The Jews of Medieval Christian Europe 6. The Jews in the Ottoman Empire and the Middle East 7. The Jews of Western Europe 8. The Jews of Eastern Europe and the United States 9. The Holocaust 10. Zionism and the Origins of the State of Israel 11. The Jewish People after 1948 Bibliography Index.
Summary: A guide to all aspects of archaeology, this work provides a readable and compact introduction to archaeology for those new to the field. Long-established techniques are carefully explained as well as exciting new methods as the authors describe the ways in which archaeologists seek to explain and interpret the remote past of humankind.
Call Number: Wallace ENG 380/ HNR 320 PS2384 .M6 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-30
Summary: Celebrating Herman Melville’s 200th birthday with a full-color edition of Moby-Dick, the edition pays homage to Melville’s original text, while breathing new life into the story via Gilbert Wilson’s vibrant, timeless artwork. Critics have called Moby-Dick “the most ambitious book ever conceived by an American writer”―and Wilson’s version will be the most ambitious illustrated edition of that book.
Summary: Enhanced by the most up-to-date information available, including a text-specific web-site, this book provides coverage of both microevolution and macroevolution through a variety of taxonomic groups. It focuses throughout on phylogenetic trees.
Summary: From generals to privates, the paper printed articles and long serials on everything from major battles such as Gettysburg and Antietam, to arguments about which battery fired the shot that killed General Leonidas Polk, whether Grant’s army was surprised at Shiloh, and just about every topic in between. Unbeknownst to many, a number of Confederate accounts were also published in the paper. Thanks to Dr. Sauers, Civil War researchers and writers worldwide now have easy access to the valuable contents of this primary source material.
Summary: Many favorite folk and fairy tales offer a perfect segue for introducing young children to early STEM concepts. Children explore ways to help the Gingerbread Man cross the river, design sturdy homes for the Three Little Pigs, build a wolf-proof fence for Little Red Riding Hood's grandmother, and more. A joyful way to spark a love of science in little learners!
Summary: What better way to get young children excited about STEM than through beloved nursery rhymes? Children explore ways to keep Humpty Dumpty from breaking after a fall, design a system for Jack and Jill to bring water down the hill without carrying it, build a catapult to help the cow jump over the moon, and many more. A joyful way to spark a love of science in little learners!
Summary: For decades, child welfare authorities have been forcibly removing Native American children from their homes to 'save' them from being Indian. In Maine, the first official 'truth and reconciliation commission' in the United States begins an unprecedented investigation. Dawnland goes behind-the-scenes as this historic body deals with difficult truths, questions the meaning of reconciliation, and charts a new course for state and tribal relations.