A Research Guide for Biological & Environmental Sciences
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and biological and environmental sciences faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in biology.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and NKU faculty approved and might be your best bests for researching most topics in biology and environmental sciences.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Easily discover critical journal coverage of the life sciences with Biological Abstracts, produced by the Web of Science Group, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. Including BIOSIS indexing and MeSH terms, specialized indexing in Biological Abstracts helps you to discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database covering scholarly journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search interface allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, Web of Science Core Collection, and others. Results can be analyzed by document type, institution name, source title, and subject area.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject Coverage: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of more than 200 titles from over 150 publishers in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The collection offers comprehensive coverage of fields such as zoology, plant sciences, ornithology, and entomology, with new content added daily.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our A-Z list for additional biology-related databases.
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
