Filled with dozens of comics about LGBTQIA + experiences, ranging from personal stories to queer history to cutting satire about pronoun panic and brands desperate to co-opt pride, this book features more than 30 of today's top indie cartoonists.
When four teenagers with haunted pasts enroll in Blackwood College--a school that trains students in the occult--their desire to enhance their supernatural abilities and bond with others is hampered by an undead dean's curse, ghosts in their dorm, a mischievous two-headed mummy-chimp, a plague of mutant insects, and the discovery of an ancient evil that forces our heroes to undergo a crash course in the occult for the sake of the world.
During the Civil War, Cincinnati played a crucial role in preserving the United States. Not only was the city the North's most populous in the west, but it was also the nation's third-most productive manufacturing center. Instrumental in the Underground Railroad prior to the conflict, the city became a focal point for curbing Southern incursion into Union territory, and nearby Camp Dennison was Ohio's largest camp in the Civil War and one of the largest in the United States.
Going cloud native has been a big advantage for many companies, but it's a tough technique to get right. especially for enterprises with critical legacy systems. In this practical hands-on guide, cloud migration consultants Pini Reznik, Jamie Dobson, and Michelle Gienow examine effective architecture, design, and cultural patterns to help you transform your organization into a cloud-native enterprise.
Quinn Maybrook and her father have moved to tiny, boring Kettle Springs, to find a fresh start. But what they don't know is that ever since the Baypen Corn Syrup Factory shut down, Kettle Springs has cracked in half. On one side are the adults, who are desperate to make Kettle Springs great again, and on the other are the kids, who want to have fun, make prank videos, and get out of Kettle Springs as quickly as they can. Kettle Springs is caught in a battle between old and new, tradition and progress.
In this collection of literary slice-of-life horror, five stories explore what happens when one is desperate enough to seek solace and connection in the world of monsters and darkness. An old woman living alone on the edge of a bog gets an unexpected -- and unsettling -- visitor, throwing her quiet life into a long-buried mystery.
"Kimiâ Sadr fled Iran at the age of ten in the company of her mother and sisters to join her father in France. Now twenty-five and facing the future she has built for herself as well as the prospect of a new generation, Kimiâ is inundated by her own memories and the stories of her ancestors, which come to her in unstoppable, uncontainable waves.
Upon meeting in a bar one night, Elsie and Jimmy are immediately attracted to each other, but there's a hitch--she's a vampire and he's a werewolf. The two become involved (with a few minor annoyances and missteps), and they share memories of past lovers and swap gruesome tales of past exploits.
Oksa Pollock has discovered that she's the queen of the magical land of Edefia. As if that wasn't enough for any thirteen-year-old to be dealing with, her mother is still desperately ill and now her best friend, Gus, has become trapped in the Forest of Lost Souls.
A treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.
Call Number: TK5105.885.G66 G44 2018 Book Collection
Publication Date: 2018
Cloud services make it easy to get infrastructure in a flexible and on-demand way. While there are many cloud services to choose from, Google Cloud Platform offers unique services that let you focus on building powerful applications. Google Cloud Services in Action teaches readers to build and launch web applications that scale while leveraging the Google Cloud Platform.
When a car crash sidelines Mickey just before softball season, she has to find a way to hold on to her spot as the catcher for a team expected to make a historic tournament run. Behind the plate is the only place she's ever felt comfortable, and the painkillers she's been prescribed can help her get there.
The Witch is dead. And the discovery of her corpse--by a group of children playing near the irrigation canals--propels the whole village into an investigation of how and why this murder occurred. Rumors and suspicions spread. As the novel unfolds in a dazzling linguistic torrent, with each unreliable narrator lingering details, new acts of depravity or brutality, Melchor extracts some tiny shred of humanity from these characters that most would write off as utterly irredeemable, forming a lasting portrait of a damned Mexican village.
Hilarious and relatable comics about one young woman's life, relationships, and day-to-day humorous musings on why it's good to leave the house sometimes-and when it's better to stay home. Cassandra Calin's ability to document the hilarity of relatable everyday events in a series of webcomics has generated a huge following on social media.
Heritage Village Museum is a recreated 1800s community in Southwestern Ohio, in the United States. The village contains 13 historic buildings from around the Cincinnati area; they were moved here to save them from destruction. The village is located within Sharon Woods Park in Sharonville, Ohio.
Scandalous gossip, wild parties, and forbidden love -- witness what the gods do after dark, in this stylish and contemporary reimagining of one of mythology's best-known stories. Persephone, young goddess of spring, is new to Olympus. Her mother, Demeter, has raised her in the mortal realm, but after Persephone promises to train as a sacred virgin, she's allowed to live in the fast-moving, glamorous world of the gods.
From art school student to designer for Nike, Topshop, and Google, Kate Moross has lived the life that young graphic artists dream of. But it hasn't always been a smooth ride, and in this informative memoir and guide Moross offers true insider's tips on how to make it in a highly competitive field.
This book analyzes the six stories in Melville's 'The Piazza Tales' with an emphasis on issues of embodiment-invalidism or disability, pain, trauma, enslavement, performance, monsters-and related systems of cultural values defined by race, class, and gender.
n the year 2024, the country is marred by unattended environmental and economic crises that lead to social chaos. Lauren Olamina, a preacher's daughter living in Los Angeles, is protected from danger by the walls of her gated community. However, in a night of fire and death, what begins as a fight for survival soon leads to something much more: a startling vision of human destiny . . . and the birth of a new faith.
From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated comes story tells a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth, in a system designed to strip him of both..
Riot Baby is as much an intimate family story as a global dystopian narrative. It burns fearlessly toward revolution and has quietly devastating things to say about love, fury, and the black American experience.
Coiled grass baskets are icons of Gullah culture. From their roots in Africa through their evolution on Lowcountry rice plantations to their modern recognition as art, they carry centuries of African American and South Carolina history.
Speak up for yourself - we want to know what you have to say." From the first moment of her freshman year at Merryweather High, Melinda knows this is a big fat lie, part of the nonsense of high school. She is friendless - an outcast - because she busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops, so now nobody will talk to her, let alone listen to her. Through her work on an art project, she is finally able to face what really happened that night: She was raped by an upperclassman, a guy who is still a threat to her.
When Zachary Rawlins stumbles across a strange book hidden in his university library it leads him on a quest unlike any other. Its pages entrance him with their tales of lovelorn prisoners, lost cities and nameless acolytes, but they also contain something impossible: a recollection from his own childhood.Determined to solve the puzzle of the book, Zachary follows the clues he finds on the cover - a bee, a key and a sword. They guide him to a masquerade ball, to a dangerous secret club, and finally through a magical doorway created by the fierce and mysterious Mirabel.
Bron and Ray are a queer couple who enjoy their role as the fun weirdo aunties to Ray's niece, six-year-old Nessie. Their playdates are little oases of wildness, joy, and ease in all three of their lives, which ping-pong between familial tensions and deep-seeded personal stumbling blocks.
When Dr. Lee moves his family to Metropolis, his son Tommy adjusts to the new neighborhood while daughter Roberta feels out of place, so when the evil Klan of the Fiery Cross begins a string of terrorist attacks on the city, Superman fights them, and Roberta and Superman soon learn to embrace their own unique features that set them apart.
The testimonies of six survivors of the Holocaust are presented in comic form, aimed at teenage readers. Some of them were children then, and are still alive to tell what happened to them and their families. How they survived. What they lost--and how you keep on living, despite it all. Jessica Bab Bonde has, based on survivor's stories, written an important book. Peter Bergting's art makes the book accessible, despite its difficult subject.
Call Number: QA76.9.B45 O64 2017 Class Set 2 NKU Read 3rd Floor
Publication Date: 2017
We live in the age of the algorithm. Increasingly, the decisions that affect our lives -- where we go to school, whether we get a car loan, how much we pay for health insurance -- are being made not by humans, but by mathematical models.
This collection of essays interrogate the different myths and stereotypes about the Latinx diaspora. The pieces delve into everything from ghost stories and superheroes, to memories in the kitchen and travels around the world, to addiction and grief, to identity and anti-Blackness, to finding love and speaking your truth. The result is an essential celebration of this rich and diverse community.
This documentary tells the story of pack horse librarians - women hired by the Franklin Roosevelt's Work Progress Administration (WPA) during the Great Depression to travel on horseback to deliver library books and magazines to people in Eastern Kentucky, braving creeks, mountains and inclement weather along the way.
An examination into how 'Red Scare' politics were used to impede the civil rights movement. The story is told through the confrontations of African-American performers with blacklists, loyalty oaths, and discrimination in casting.
Signature approach to developing scientific literacy and exploring the real impact of psychology across the breadth of cultural diversity. Highlighting the new content is coverage of applied behavioral neuroscience from expert contributor Abigail Baird (Vassar College), as well as coverage related to the COVID pandemic, and updated discussions of gender, sexuality, diversity, and inclusion.
Allen Rubin and Earl R. Babbie's classic bestseller is acclaimed for its depth and breadth of coverage, clear and often humorous writing style, student-friendly examples, and ideal balance of quantitative and qualitative research techniques.
Research Methods in Social Work helps students develop the evidence-based practice by involving them in the process of research methodology. An innovative storytelling approach follows two students engaged in internships who go through the steps and tasks required to design a program and evaluate it in their practicum.
Social Work Experience: An Introduction to Social Work and Social Welfare introduces students to the social work profession and presents detailed descriptions of eight major fields of practice. The text provides in-depth information concerning major social welfare policies that are presented from a historical perspective, along with a thorough discussion of current issues and probable future trends.