In Case Interview Secrets, you'll discover step-by-step instructions on how to dominate what many consider to be the most complex, most difficult, and most intimidating corporate job interview in the world—the infamous case interview. Victor Cheng, a former McKinsey management consultant, reveals his proven, insider's method for acing the case interview. Having personally secured job offers from McKinsey, Bain & Company, Monitor, L.E.K, Oliver Wyman, and A.T. Kearney, he has also been a McKinsey case interviewer—providing you with a hands-on, real-world perspective on what it really takes to land job offers.

These were the years in which two of our greatest presidents--Theodore Roosevelt and Woodrow Wilson--transformed the office into the center of power; in which the United States entered the world stage and fought its first overseas war; in which the government's proper role in the economy became a public question; and in which reform became an imperative for muckraking reporters, progressive politicians, social activists, and writers. It was a golden age in American politics, when fundamental ideas were given compelling expression by thoughtful candidates. It was a trying time, however, for many Americans, including women who fought for the vote, blacks who began organizing to secure their rights, and activists on the Left who lost theirs in the first Red Scare of the century. John Cooper's panoramic history of this period shows us where we came from and sheds light on where we are.

Place-Based Service Learning in Higher Education: Building Trust and Opportunities Over Time looks at the intersection of student research and community-based learning in a concentrated location over a period of ten years. This study examines the use of an urban neighborhood as a place-based source for engagement partners and opportunities. With a sustained, programmatic commitment to the neighborhood, Northern Kentucky University sought to build trust over a period of ten years with residents, nonprofit agencies serving them, and other stakeholders, who in turn could generate a steady stream of engagement opportunities valued by the neighborhood and valuable to students' learning. Analysis found that this commitment indeed built trust with partners and produced mutually beneficial opportunities, including lasting relationships, impactful work in the community and retention of faculty and students.

A collection of more than 40 searching and provocative essays about art, design, and visual communication by design critic Rick Poynor. Topics include the commercial takeover of design, design criticism and history, the interplay of words and image, design celebrity, the canon, graphic authorship, critical forms of practice, and the enduring intimacy between art and design.

Stand-up comedians have a long history of walking a careful line between serious and playful engagement with social issues: Lenny Bruce questioned the symbolic valence of racial slurs, Dick Gregory took time away from the stage to speak alongside Martin Luther King Jr., and-more recently-Tig Notaro challenged popular notions of damaged or abject bodies. Stand-up comedians deploy humor to open up difficult topics for broader examination, which only underscores the social and cultural importance of their work. Taking a Stand: Contemporary US Stand-Up Comedians as Public Intellectuals draws together essays that contribute to the analysis of the stand-up-comedian-as-public intellectual since the 1980s. The chapters explore stand-up comedians as contributors to and shapers of public discourse via their live performances, podcasts, social media presence, and political activism. Each chapter highlights a stand-up comedian and their ongoing discussion of a cultural issue or expression of a political ideology/standpoint: Lisa Lampanelli's use of problematic postracial humor, Aziz Ansari's merging of sociology and technology, or Maria Bamford's emphasis on mental health, to name just a few. Taking a Stand offers a starting point for understanding the work stand-up comedians do as well as its reach beyond the stage. Comedians influence discourse, perspectives, even public policy on myriad issues, and this book sets out to take those jokes seriously. Contributions by Jared N. Champion, Miriam M. Chirico, Thomas Clark, David R. Dewberry, Christopher J. Gilbert, David Gillota, Kathryn Kein, Rob King, Rebecca Krefting, Peter C. Kunze, Linda Mizejewski, Aviva Orenstein, Raúl Pérez, Philip Scepanski, Susan Seizer, Monique Taylor, Ila Tyagi, and Timothy J. Viator.

The art of the code--code making and code breaking--remains shrouded in mystery and seems locked away in the murky realms of military intelligence, spies, and secret services. Yet codes affect virtually every area of our lives, providing security, protecting identity, and enabling us to connect via the Internet across global boundaries. This lavishly illustrated encyclopedia surveys the history and development of code making and code breaking in all areas of culture and society-from hieroglyphs and runes to DNA, the Zodiac Killer, The Da Vinci Code, graffiti, and beyond. Beginning with the first codes, including those found in the natural world and among ancient peoples, the book casts a wide net, exploring secret societies, codes of war, codes of the underworld, commerce, human behavior, and civilization itself. Editor Paul Lunde and an extraordinary group of specialists have compiled the most comprehensive and complete collection of codes available. Visually stunning and packed with fascinating details, The Book of Codes tells the complete story of codes at a time when they have become fundamentally important to our lives.

From the London Centre for Books Arts, the internationally recognized, artistrun, open-access studio at the forefront of the book-craft community, comes this definitive manual for creating hand-bound books. Making Books: A Guide to Creating Handcrafted Books offers beginners and advanced artists alike a comprehensive overview of the tools, principles, and techniques used in hand bookbinding. Through hundreds of vibrant photographs and clear illustrations showing step-by-step instructions, Making Books leads readers through six bookbinding projects, from pamphlets and concertinas to multisection case bindings, for aspiring binders to learn and master.

Gain the knowledge and skills you need to provide soft-tissue therapy! Kinesiology: The Skeletal System and Muscle Function, 4th Edition provides a complete guide to the art and science of musculoskeletal anatomy, movement, and dysfunction treatment. With more than 1,200 full-color illustrations, the book shows the body's bones and joints, and how muscles function as movers, antagonists, and stabilizers. Part I covers the fundamentals of structure and motion. Part II covers the skeletal system, including skeletal and fascial tissues. Part III contains a detailed study of the joints of the body. And finally, Part IV examines how muscles function. Written by noted lecturer and educator Joseph Muscolino, this text includes access to an Evolve website with 150 video clips demonstrating major joint actions of the body as well as muscle palpation. Complete atlas of bones, bony landmarks, and joints includes hundreds of full-color illustrations, providing comprehensive coverage of bones not found in other kinesiology books. Clear, straightforward explanations of kinesiology concepts cover muscle contraction(s), coordination of muscles with movement, core stabilization, posture, exercise, reflexes, and how the nervous system controls and directs the muscular system. Coverage of strengthening exercises and stretching emphasizes the purposes and benefits of stretching and how to perform various stretching techniques. Information on posture and the gait cycle includes illustrations of all of the muscles of the human body organized by function. Clinical applications challenge students to apply kinesiology concepts to clinical practice. Light-bulb and Spotlight boxes discuss applications of the content, including pathologic conditions and clinical scenarios. Learning objectives at the start of each chapter include a chapter outline, overview, key terms and pronunciations, and word origins. NEW! Expanded coverage of fascia includes new perspectives from all-new contributors, including the role of fascia in movement, stability, and posture.

Abnormal Psychology: The Science and Treatment of Psychological Disorders, 15th Edition DSM-5-TR Update Thoroughly updated to reflect the publication of the DSM-5-TR in March 2022, Abnormal Psychology, 15th Edition, carefully balances research and clinical application while engaging learners in the complex challenges faced by clinicians and scientists every day. With each new edition, the authors update and optimize the book to enhance its scholarly and pedagogical features and provide a critical understanding of key concepts in a style that is accessible, stimulating, and inclusive of clinical and theoretical concerns. The fifteenth edition features a new integrated approach that shines a light on the root causes and most effective treatments of psychopathologies from multiple, complementary perspectives. Introductory chapters give students all the background they need to understand the theories, methods, and principles used in later chapters. The importance of stigma and mental illness is discussed throughout Abnormal Psychology, and never is this more important than now, when many social ills are too easily blamed on mental illness.

Reproductions of paintings in tar, oil, and gold leaf titled with quotes from Moby-Dick invoke Melville's novel as a cautionary, foundational myth for our own age of accelerating climate change and social disruption. This selection pairs evocative tar paintings from Christopher Volpe's "Loomings" series with excerpts from Moby-Dick and two brief essays by the artist.

Easy to use and easy to afford, The Little Seagull Handbook is the #1 brief handbook because students say it has a positive impact on their writing. Intuitive organization, color-coding, and jargon-free instruction for common kinds of writing make it a reference tool that student writers truly use. This edition includes NEW advice for conducting research as it's done online today, NEW student model essays, and a NEW chapter on writing summary/response essays. The Little Seagull Handbook, MLA Update Edition features the latest documentation guidelines from the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook (2021).

This multimedia work focuses, from a timeless lyrical perspective, on the existence of Miguel de Cervantes. The resources of poetry, art, and music are used to explore the Quixotic destiny - an expression of ominous human arbitrariness. Each poem in the book has a corresponding musical work, composed and played by the author, as well as his reading of the poem, all of which are included on two CDs. A DVD provides video of the composer playing two of these musical works. The book is illustrated by five outstanding contemporary artists, and is packaged, together with the CDs and the DVD, in an elegant slipcase.