A Research Guide for Black, Women's & Gender Studies
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and Black, Women's, and Gender Studies faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in Black, Women's, and Gender Studies.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and Black, Women's, and Gender Studies approved and are your best bets for researching most topics in Black, Women's, and Gender Studies.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 8,000 articles, biographies, primary documents, and media analyzing the contributions and challenges of African Americans throughout history.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Contains historical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender research and gender studies research that spans the sixteenth to the twentieth centuries. Documentation covering disciplines such as social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) communities around the world are included, as well as rare and unique books on sex and sexuality from the sciences to the humanities to support research and education.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowCovering 250 years of history, this collection contains approximately 100,000 pages of nonfiction writings by major American black leaders. Included are letters, speeches, essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
A primary source collection covering African American history, culture and daily life from the early 18th century to the modern era. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch provides over 300 titles to support gender, family, ethnic, and societal studies. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
- Women's Studies Archive, Part 1: Issues and Identities This link opens in a new windowFocusing on the 19th and 20th centuries, Women's Studies Archive provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, it presents a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000, the site features a collection of digitized primary sources that document women's activism in United States public life. The collection includes books, images, pamphlets, advice literature, training guides, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, publications of state and local commissions on women, and ephemera. Also includes the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, and the Online Biographical Dictionary of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the United States.
- LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications. Other source types such as monographs and reference books, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc., are also represented. Disciplines covered by LGBTQ+ Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our full list of databases for black studies and women's, gender, and sexuality studies.
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
