A Research Guide for Counseling
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and counseling faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in counseling.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and Counseling approved and are your best bests for researching most topics in counseling.
-
PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling, and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from over 18,000 journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
-
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowIndexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. Coverage from 1902 to present.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowDatabase sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling, and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
-
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications. Other source types such as monographs and reference books, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc., are also represented. Disciplines covered by LGBTQ+ Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
-
APA PsycTests This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.
-
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowOffers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests are provided. Reviews are written by highly qualified professionals with expertise in a range of disciplines.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our A-Z list for more psychology resources.
-
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
by
ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022-03-18
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
