A Research Guide for Chemistry
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and Chemistry faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in Chemistry.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and Chemistry approved and are your best bests for researching most topics in Chemistry.
-
ACS Publications This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences. Also includes ACS Legacy Archives.
-
SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new windowOnline version of Chemical Abstracts database includes citations to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, reviews, and technical reports.
**To register as a new user, please go to SciFinder Registration.**
**Quick reference guide is online** -
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database covering scholarly journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search interface allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, Web of Science Core Collection, and others. Results can be analyzed by document type, institution name, source title, and subject area.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject Coverage: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our A-Z list.
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
