A Research Guide for Geology
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and Geology faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in Geology.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and Geology approved and are your best bets for researching most topics in Geology.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Established by the American Geosciences Institute, GeoRef is a comprehensive database in the geosciences.The database includes references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation.
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Applied Science and Technology Full Text covers 350+ key, international English-language periodicals in the applied sciences and technology.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database covering scholarly journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search interface allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, Web of Science Core Collection, and others. Results can be analyzed by document type, institution name, source title, and subject area.
- General Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 160 leading scientific journals and magazines published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Basic, core coverage across all scientific fields, from astronomy to zoology. Full text is included for many articles since 1994.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our full list of earth & environmental sciences databases.
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
