A Research Guide for Health Informatics
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and health informatics faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in health informatics.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and health informatics approved and are your best bets for researching most topics in health informatics. The databases below cover a variety of subjects. Read the database description to understand the information contained within each database!
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database covering scholarly journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search interface allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, Web of Science Core Collection, and others. Results can be analyzed by document type, institution name, source title, and subject area.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
-
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 5 million full-text documents in the areas of engineering, computing, and technology. Provides access to full text IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, IEEE and IET conference proceedings, and active IEEE standards.
-
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text Harvard Business Review and California Management Review.
-
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Applied Science and Technology Full Text covers 350+ key, international English-language periodicals in the applied sciences and technology.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our A-Z list [link to direct A-Z sorting]
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
