A Research Guide for Library & Information Science
A starting guide for identifying resources to support research in Library and Information Science
About this guide
The guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in Library and Information Science.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and Library Informatics approved and might be your best bets for researching most topics in Library and Information Science.
- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowLibrary Literature & Information Science Full Text covers subjects ranging from automation, censorship, government aid, public relations, and much more. It provides PDF page images of full-text articles, including charts, graphs, photos, and other important graphical information with coverage dating as far back as 1980. It indexes articles and book reviews in more than 400 key library and information science periodicals and full-text coverage for over 175 selected periodicals.
- Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLibrary, Information Science & Technology Abstracts provides full text of journal articles and indexing of books, research reports and conference proceedings. covering librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from over 18,000 journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Looking for other relevant databases? Check out our full list of library and information science databases.
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Schedule an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
