A Research Guide for Philosophy and Religious Studies
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and Philosophy and Religious Studies faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in Philosophy and Religious Studies.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and Philosophy and Religious Studies approved and are your best bets for researching most topics in Philosophy and Religious Studies.
- Philosophers Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe Philosopher's Index provides access to articles in the field of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. For many years the standard index to the philosophical literature.
**Limited to 1 concurrent user.** - Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the humanities. Coverage: 700 periodicals; 1980 - present. Citation only.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Citations to over 240,000 articles and monographs dealing with all aspects of Muslim life and Middle Eastern studies, including history, economics, religion and theology, law, art and architecture, and philosophy. Also included are citations to conference papers and presentations, memorial volumes and collected essays.
- Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO) This link opens in a new windowA rich collection of primary material that ranges across a wide variety of subject areas, including philosophy, literature, and drama. Provides full-text access to over 1,600 editions covering 1,200 years of history.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines. While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our full list of philosophy and religous studies databases.
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
