A Research Guide for Social Work
A starting spot for identifying resources to support research in Social Work.
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and Social Work faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in Social Work.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and Social Work approved and might be your best bests for researching most topics in Social Work.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
-
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database provides indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on social work, human services, and related areas including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: Citation only, 1300+ journals; 1927 - present.
-
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database offers a trusted source of sociology literature, making it an essential tool for sociology and social work researchers and students.
-
PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThe PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each of the 49 journals. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.
-
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowProvides select books, journals, and multimedia on psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science from the American Psychiatric Association Publishing. Includes American Journal of Psychiatry and the most recent edition of the DSM, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.
-
PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling, and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our A-Z list
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
