A Research Guide for Theatre and Dance
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and Theatre and Dance faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in Theatre and Dance.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library and Theatre and Dance approved and are your best bets for researching most topics in Theatre and Dance.
- Theatre and Drama Premium This link opens in a new windowVideos, interviews, and texts concerning theater and drama. Access over 13,500 full-text plays, 300 audio plays from L.A. Theatre Works, filmed stage performances, documentaries, other video content, and contextualizing materials (designs, reference, and ephemera) including recent Broadway productions and previously unpublished plays. Includes The National Theatre Collection and The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection. Covers key writers, creators, and performers, as well as works by and about often overlooked groups, including African Americans, women, and a range of world cultures.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowContains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video
- Art Index This link opens in a new window
Art Index is an art research database providing high-quality indexing for hundreds of national and international art journals, plus thousands of art dissertations. The index covers fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, film, and architecture.
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of world fashion from 1500 BCE to present.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains journal articles, books, book articles, and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Covers 1984-present.
- IPA Source This link opens in a new windowThis is a library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. IPA Source includes more than 7,500 IPA texts.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our A-Z list
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
