A Research Guide for World Languages & Literatures
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and faculty from World Languages and Literatures, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in world languages and literatures.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library approved and are your best bets for researching most topics in world languages and literatures. For more specialized databases, see the "Using additional resources" page.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from over 18,000 journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
- Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the humanities. Coverage: 700 periodicals; 1980 - present. Citation only.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines. While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides the full text of several hundred journals and thousands of eBooks from a variety of academic publishers. Content is current with some historical coverage.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our full list of language and linguistics databases, or our English and literature databases.
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
