This volume surveys the archaeology of Native North Americans from their arrival on the continent 15,000 years ago up to contact with European colonizers. Offering rich descriptions of monumental structures, domestic architecture, vibrant objects, and spiritual forces, Timothy R. Pauketat and Kenneth E. Sassaman show how indigenous people shaped both their history and North America's many varied environments. They place the student in the past as they trace how Native Americans dealt with challenges such as climate change, the rise of social hierarchies and political power, and ethnic conflict. Written in a clear and engaging style with a compelling narrative, The Archaeology of Ancient North America presents the grand historical themes and intimate stories of ancient Americans in full, living color.

A heartrending graphic memoir about a young Jewish girl's fight for survival in Nazi occupied Poland, The Girl Who Sang illustrates the power of a brother's love, the kindness of strangers, and finding hope when facing the unimaginable. Born to a Jewish family in a small Polish village, Estelle Nadel--then known as Enia Feld--was just seven years old when the Nazis invaded Poland in 1939. Once a vibrant child with a song for every occasion, Estelle would eventually lose her voice as, over the next five years, she would survive the deaths of their mother, father, their eldest brother and sister, and countless others. A child at the mercy of her neighbors during a terrifying time in history, The Girl Who Sang is an enthralling first-hand account of Estelle's fight for survival during World War II. She would weather loss, betrayal, near-execution, and spend two years away from the warmth of the sun--all before the age of eleven. And once the war was over, Estelle would walk barefoot across European borders and find remnants of home in an Austrian displaced persons camp before finally crossing the Atlantic to arrive in New York City--a young woman carrying the unseen scars of war. Beautifully rendered in bright hues with expressive, emotional characters, debut illustrator Sammy Savos masterfully brings Estelle story of survival during the Holocaust to a whole new generation of readers. The Girl Who Sang is perfect for fans of March, Maus, and Anne Frank's Diary.

Interpreting Basic Statistics gives students valuable practice in interpreting statistical reporting as it actually appears in peer-reviewed journals. Features of the ninth edition: - Covers a broad array of basic statistical concepts, including topics drawn from the New Statistics - Up-to-date journal excerpts reflecting contemporary styles in statistical reporting - Strong emphasis on data visualization - Ancillary materials include data sets with almost two hours of accompanying tutorial videos, which will help students and instructors apply lessons from the book to real-life scenarios About this book Each of the 63 exercises in the book contain three central components: 1) an introduction to a statistical concept, 2) a brief excerpt from a published research article that uses the statistical concept, and 3) a set of questions (with answers) that guides students into deeper learning about the concept. The questions on the journal excerpts promote learning by helping students - interpret information in tables and figures, - perform simple calculations to further their interpretations, - critique data-reporting techniques, and - evaluate procedures used to collect data. The questions in each exercise are divided into two parts: (1) Factual Questions and (2) Questions for Discussion. The Factual Questions require careful reading for details, while the discussion questions show that interpreting statistics is more than a mathematical exercise. These questions require students to apply good judgment as well as statistical reasoning in arriving at appropriate interpretations. Each exercise covers a limited number of topics, making it easy to coordinate the exercises with lectures or a traditional statistics textbook.

GMAT Official Guide 2024-2025 Bundle: Includes GMAT Official Guide 2024-2025, GMAT Official Guide Quantitative Review 2024-2025, GMAT Official Guide Verbal Review 2024-2025, and GMAT Official Guide Data Insights Review 2024-2025 & Online Question Bank Best value! Get the ultimate prep collection with the complete Official Guide set. You'll have all the tools you need to evaluate, practice, and focus your prep with over 1,600+ practice questions. Everything you need to begin your prep. The GMAT(tm) Official Guide Bundle 2024-2025, the only study guides featuring real exam questions, offers comprehensive practice for each section of the GMAT exam, ensuring that you are well-prepared on exam day. Highlights: Updated Data Insights, Quantitative Review and Verbal Review chapters to master each section of the GMAT exam Access to an Online Question Bank to create custom practice sets by questions type and difficulty level so that you can plan your individual practice Exclusive access to online diagnostic evaluations to discover your strengths and focus areas Detailed answer explanations to master the reasoning behind the answers New! Get exclusive exam preparation tips from test prep organizations Use these guides to: Master the exam structure and excel in each section Understand key concepts with review chapters Tackle questions from the Quantitative Reasoning, Verbal Reasoning, and Data Insights sections of the GMAT exam (featuring 250+ new questions!) Review detailed explanations to understand correct and incorrect answers New! Practice with two-part analysis questions in the book PLUS! Focus your studying with the Online Question Bank - Bonus: included with purchase! Benefit from 300+ extra questions (only available in the Online Question Bank) in addition to the questions from the book Tailor your practice by building practice sets targeting question type and difficulty Discover your strengths and weaknesses with diagnostic quizzes Track your focus areas and progress with key metrics Reinforce concepts with flashcards and engaging games Challenge yourself with timed practice Use digital flashcards to master key concepts, also accessible on the mobile app This product includes 4 print books with a unique code to access the GMAT Official Guide Online Question Bank and mobile app.

This indispensable collection provides extensive, yet accessible, coverage of conceptual and practical issues in research design in personality and social psychology. Using numerous examples and clear guidelines, especially for conducting complex statistical analysis, leading experts address specific methods and areas of research to capture a definitive overview of contemporary practice. Updated and expanded, this third edition engages with the most important methodological innovations over the past decade, offering a timely perspective on research practice in the field. To reflect such rapid advances, this volume includes commentary on particularly timely areas of development such as social neuroscience, mobile sensing methods, and innovative statistical applications. Seasoned and early-career researchers alike will find a range of tools, methods, and practices that will help improve their research and develop new conceptual and methodological possibilities. Supplementary online materials are available on Cambridge Core.

UDPATED TO ACE THE NEW LSAT! The latest edition of our comprehensive prep book provides everything students need to know to master the Law School Admission Test-including instructional review using actual test questions, strategies for Logical Reasoning and Reading Comprehension, and included access to 2 official LSAT PrepTests + real extra drills licensed from LSAC. The new LSAT starts in August 2024! Prep with confidence with the 30th edition of our popular LSAT prep book, now fully revised for the new exam (which removes the old "Games" section and doubles down on Logical and Analytical Reasoning). Everything You Need for a High Score Content review with step-by-step examples that use real, previously-administered LSAT problems Thorough coverage of all LSAT Logical Reasoning and Reading Comprehension topics Expert instruction and targeted strategies for acing each section Practice Your Way to Excellence 2 full-length, recent Official LSAT PrepTests (licensed directly from the Law School Admissions Council) accessible online, all with detailed answer explanations Additional real Reading Comprehension and Logical Reasoning test sections, totaling more than 100 additional real LSAT questions as drills in the book Techniques That Actually Work, Plus Online Extras Tried-and-true strategies to help you avoid traps and beat the test Complete breakdown of common LSAT mistakes Essential tactics to help you work smarter, not harder Law school profiles, admission guides, and essay tips Multi-week study guides

How AI is revolutionizing the future of learning and how educators can adapt to this new era of human thinking. Artificial Intelligence (AI) is revolutionizing the way we learn, work, and think. Its integration into classrooms and workplaces is already underway, impacting and challenging ideas about creativity, authorship, and education. In this groundbreaking and practical guide, teachers will discover how to harness and manage AI as a powerful teaching tool. José Antonio Bowen and C. Edward Watson present emerging and powerful research on the seismic changes AI is already creating in schools and the workplace, providing invaluable insights into what AI can accomplish in the classroom and beyond. By learning how to use new AI tools and resources, educators will gain the confidence to navigate the challenges and seize the opportunities presented by AI. From interactive learning techniques to advanced assignment and assessment strategies, this comprehensive guide offers practical suggestions for integrating AI effectively into teaching and learning environments. Bowen and Watson tackle crucial questions related to academic integrity, cheating, and other emerging issues. In the age of AI, critical thinking skills, information literacy, and a liberal arts education are more important than ever. As AI continues to reshape the nature of work and human thinking, educators can equip students with the skills they need to thrive in a rapidly evolving world. This book serves as a compass, guiding educators through the uncharted territory of AI-powered education and the future of teaching and learning.

Save money and get total official GRE® test preparation with this 3-book bundle from the test maker! This Power Pack includes: *  Official Guide to the GRE® Test, Fourth Edition  *  Official GRE® Quantitative Reasoning Practice Questions, Third Edition *  Official GRE® Verbal Reasoning Practice Questions, Third Edition  This Official GRE® Super Power Pack, Third Edition provides key information and the practice you need to do your best on the GRE® General Test. For less than what you would pay for each book separately, the bundle packages three books together. This essential resource features two full-length, authentic GRE tests, hundreds of authentic GRE practice questions with answers and explanations, descriptions of every question type, with valuable question-answering tips and test-taking strategies to use in your GRE test preparation.  Only ETS can show you exactly what to expect on the test. So, for in-depth GRE test preparation and intensive practice at a money-saving price, this bundle is your best choice! The Official GRE® Super Power Pack offers: *  Significant savings over purchasing each book separately *  Everything you need to know about the test, direct from the test maker *  Two complete GRE tests with real GRE test questions, and more free prep and practice tests online 600 authentic practice exam questions with answers and detailed explanations *  The test maker's own tips for answering each question type *  Scored sample Analytical Writing essay responses and reader commentary *  eBook content that is fully accessible for individuals with disabilities

The bestselling guide from the maker of the TOEFL® test--fully updated to reflect recent changes to the test The Official Guide to the TOEFL iBT® Test is the most complete and reliable guide to the test that is used to meet English-language proficiency requirements at more than 13,000 institutions worldwide. This updated edition reflects the recent (July 2023) changes to the exam. In addition to four full-length practice tests, it includes thorough review sections to walk students through everything they need to know to succeed on every section of the exam. Students will learn how to construct effective answers and how to integrate speaking, listening, and writing skills. The accompanying digital tests mimic what students will see on test day and are accessible for students with disabilities. The Official Guide to the TOEFL iBT® Test features: * 4 full-length practice TOEFL tests  * Hundreds of authentic TOEFL test questions and essay topics  * Test-taking strategies from the actual test maker * Answer keys, self-scoring guides, and more Educational Testing Service (ETS)  is a private, nonprofit organization devoted to educational measurement and research, primarily through testing. Founded in 1947, ETS develops, administers, and scores more than 50 million tests annually--including the TOEFL® and TOEIC® tests, the GRE® tests, and the Praxis® assessments--in more than 180 countries, at over 13,000 locations worldwide.

Il était une fois la ville de Paris. Il était une fois une rue Broca. Il était une fois un café kabyle. Il était une fois un Monsieur Pierre. Il était une fois un petit garçon qui s'appelait Bachir. Il était une fois une petite fille. Et c'est ainsi que, dans ce livre, vous allez faire la connaissance d'une sorcière, d'un géant, d'une paire de chaussures, de Scoubidou, la poupée voyageuse, d'une fée, et que vous saurez enfin la véritable histoire de Lustucru et de la mère Michel. Les sorcières et les fées d'aujourd'hui, narrées par le génial conteur et ses petits voisins de la rue Broca, à Paris. Pierre Gripari s'amuse à brouiller les pistes et le lecteur s'amuse avec lui.

What we know about dark matter and what we have yet to discover Astronomical observations have confirmed dark matter's existence, but what exactly is dark matter? In What Is Dark Matter?, particle physicist Peter Fisher introduces readers to one of the most intriguing frontiers of physics. We cannot actually see dark matter, a mysterious, nonluminous form of matter that is believed to account for about 27 percent of the mass-energy balance in the universe. But we know dark matter is present by observing its ghostly gravitational effects on the behavior and evolution of galaxies. Fisher brings readers quickly up to speed regarding the current state of the dark matter problem, offering relevant historical context as well as a close look at the cutting-edge research focused on revealing dark matter's true nature. Could dark matter be a new type of particle--an axion or a Weakly Interacting Massive Particle (WIMP)--or something else? What have physicists ruled out so far--and why? What experimental searches are now underway and planned for the near future, in hopes of detecting dark matter on Earth or in space? Fisher explores these questions and more, illuminating what is known and unknown, and what a triumph it will be when scientists discover dark matter's identity at last.

The second book in the “Making a Book” collection – dedicated to industrial bookbinding techniques – and the follow up to The Book Block, this book expands on the most common techniques, decomposing them and adding variation, while still covering all you need to know on book anatomy, materials and industrial production. ​​​​

How can academic librarians strengthen their practice of teaching and provide education through access to information, using intentional efforts to both learn and share in a social context? Building and fostering communities of practice (CoP) is the ideal way forward, as Reale demonstrates in her new book, which is both inspirational and practical. With her guidance, readers will   understand how coming together in pursuit of knowledge and shared goals can lead to a more fulfilling work environment and better professional outcomes; get pointers on how to begin with simple, casual collaborative efforts that won't conflict with busy schedules; learn from Reale's personal narratives of how CoP took root at her own institution, and the ways in which it continued to flourish during the lockdowns necessitated by the pandemic; receive a flexible CoP framework for implementation that can be tailored to fit their own needs and goals; see how to nurture conversation, participation, collaborative inquiry, and mindfulness, all essential ingredients of the CoP; feel comfortable using personal stories as tools for sensemaking within the CoP as well as ongoing individual learning and growth; and be encouraged to follow through and stick with it, using the reflection questions and activities at the end of each chapter.

Kaplan's MCAT Complete 7-Book Subject Review 2025-2026 reflects the latest, most accurate, and most testable materials on the MCAT. Streamlined and intuitive layouts facilitate easier review. You'll get efficient strategies, detailed subject review, and 3 full-length online practice tests--all authored by the experts behind Kaplan's score-raising MCAT prep course. Efficient Strategies and In-Depth Review Guided examples with expert thinking in our Behavioral Sciences, Biochemistry, and Biology books present scientific articles and walk you through challenging open-ended questions Entirely revamped CARS content with updated methods for the latest exam challenges High-Yield badges indicate the most testable content based on AAMC materials Concept summaries boil down the need-to-know information in each chapter, including any necessary equations to memorize Full-color, 24-page MCAT Quicksheets emphasize the most important information in visual form Chapter Profiles indicate the degree to which each chapter is tested and the testmaker content categories to which it aligns Charts, graphs, diagrams, and full-color, 3-D illustrations help turn even the most complex science into easy-to-visualize concepts Realistic Practice One year of online access to 3 full-length practice tests, selected instructional videos, practice questions, and quizzes Hundreds of practice questions in the books show you how to apply concepts and equations Quizzes at the beginning of each chapter help you figure out what you already know and prep more efficiently Learning objectives and concept checks ensure you're focusing on the most important information in each chapter Expert Guidance Sidebars illustrate connections between concepts and include references to more information, real-world tie ins, mnemonics, and MCAT-specific tips Comprehensive subject review written by top-rated, award-winning Kaplan instructors who guide you on where to focus your efforts and how to organize your review All material is vetted by editors with advanced science degrees and by a medical doctor We know the test: The Kaplan MCAT team has spent years studying every MCAT-related document available, and our experts ensure our practice questions and study materials are true to the test