A Research Guide for Education
Additional resources
Below are additional resources that could support your research in education.
Additional databases
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowOffers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests are provided. Reviews are written by highly qualified professionals with expertise in a range of disciplines.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowIndexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. Coverage from 1902 to present.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowA source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new windowThis essential library tool provides access to book reviews on a wide range of topics from a variety of sources, including newspapers, review journals, and popular magazines.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowThis biographical database offers the in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides full-text articles, images, and abstracts from today's leading magazines and journals.
Additional websites
- US Department of Education
- Education policy, law, funding, and data from the US Department of Education.
- NCES - National Center For Education Statistics
- Statistics, research, and evaluation from the US Department of Education.
- Praxis Tests
- Educational Testing Service's information on the teacher certification test.
- Gifted Resources
- A collection of links to education related web sites.
- Learning Theories
- A collection of links to education related web sites.
Steely Library's Special Collections & University Archives
Special Collections and University Archives supports research in the history of the northern Kentucky-Greater Cincinnati region. University records document the 55 year growth and evolution of NKU as a representative model of an academic institution. The department is especially rich in resources for regional and local history including both archival materials and secondary sources for education; African-American history; military, social and business history; politics and Appalachia. Digital collections can be viewed in our Digital Repository.
Please visit Special Collections & University Archives' webpage for additional information, including hours to visit the collection.
Instructional Video
The video below walks you through several education databases including: ERIC, Education Research Complete, Educational Administration Abstracts, Teacher Reference Center, Mental Measurements Yearbook, and Dissertations and Theses Global.
For additional instructional videos on using library resources and improving your research skills, check out Steely's YouTube channel and our Video@NKU channel.
Related Research Guides
Still looking for more information? The guides below are related to Education and could be useful for your research.
- Last Updated: Mar 5, 2025 1:29 PM
- URL: https://nku.libguides.com/education
- Print Page
