A Research Guide for Sports Business & Event Management
About this guide
This guide was created by expert librarians from Steely Library and business faculty, to kickstart your research, guiding you to recommended databases and other resources in sports business and event management.
Databases
The selected databases are Steely Library approved and are your best bets for researching most topics in sports business and event management.
Databases Specific to Sports Business & Event Management
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowA premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine journals. Topics covered include coaching, exercise science, fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, physical education, physical therapy, and sports sciences, as well as clinical specialties such as orthopedics. The database includes research, trade, and popular materials. Most date from 2000 or later and over 600 are full-text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines. While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistical data for 170+ industries including market and consumer data and reports. The portal integrates facts from a wide range of sources categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and digital markets.
Additional business & marketing databases
- ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new window
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text Harvard Business Review and California Management Review.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Newspaper with emphasis on business and economics. Coverage: Full-text, 1984 - present.
Looking for more relevant databases? Check out our A-Z list for additional databases.
Research can be difficult. Need an extra boost?
Sign up for an appointment with a Steely Librarian. Together, we'll dig into your research and try to find what you're seeking.
