This collection gathers entries previously published as part of the South Carolina Encyclopedia. Each entry offers a thumbnail description of an African American figure with a connection to South Carolina who made a significant impact in the history of the state, nation, and, in some cases, world. While most entries discuss a single individual, six discuss events or collections of people whose actions had a significant role in shaping South Carolina
This collection gathers entries previously published as part of the South Carolina Encyclopedia. Each entry offers a thumbnail description of a woman with a connection to South Carolina who made a significant impact in the history of the state, nation, and, in some cases, world.
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 S4665 2022 Book Collection
Publication Date: 2022
AWS provides a suite of strong security services, but it's up to you to configure them correctly for your applications and data. Cloud platforms require you to learn new techniques for identity management, authentication, monitoring, and other key security practices. This book gives you everything you'll need to defend your AWS-based applications from the most common threats facing your business.
Beatrice's Ledger is a story about family, memory, and the power of homeplace. The book offers a window into the day-to-day lives of African Americans living in the early twentieth-century South. Infused with history, humor, and a southerner's ability to tell a good story, readers of all types will find something to enjoy about this first-hand account.
The premise of the text is that good reading and clear thinking go hand in hand. For this reason, it emphasizes practice in sustained, analytical reading. Students first work with high-quality short passages before moving on to more substantive pieces of greater complexity.
A collection of hands-on lessons based upon the authors' considerable experience in enterprise integration, the 65 patterns included with this guide show how to use message-oriented middleware to connect enterprise applications.
This unique reference presents comprehensive coverage of the latest advances in research into enabling machines to listen to and compose new music. It includes chapters introducing what is known about human musical intelligence and how this knowledge can be simulated with artificial intelligence (AI).
A True Textbook for an Introductory Course, System Administration Course, or a Combination Course Linux with Operating System Concepts merges conceptual operating system (OS) and Unix/Linux topics into one cohesive textbook for undergraduate students.
Call Number: HQ73.7 .O74 2021 v.1-v.3 Book Collection
Publication Date: 2021
This encyclopedia reviews and interprets a broad array of social science and humanities research on LGBT people, politics, and public policy around the world. The articles are organized around six major themes of the study of identity politics, with a focus on movement politics, public attitudes, political institutions, elections, and the broader context of political theory.
The Tao of S is an engaging study of American racialization of Chinese and Asians, Asian American writing, and contemporary Chinese cultural production, stretching from the nineteenth century to the present.
When Thomas Worthington built his mansion at Adena in 1807, it was a rarity — an architect-designed plantation-style house on the edge of the Ohio frontier. This brief history of Adena provides an overview of the development of the site and the people who occupied it during its first hundred years of existence.
Call Number: F499.C57 H937 2010 Special Collections
Publication Date: 2010
First settled in 1795, Hyde Park was an area of great estates and small and large farms until 1892. That's when the seven-member Hyde Park Syndicate capitalized on new transportation connections to downtown as a means to sell their property as smaller parcels.