A Research Guide for Nursing & Allied Health

A starting spot for identifying resources to support research in Nursing, and Allied Health.

Additional resources

Below are additional resources that could support your research in Nursing & Allied Health.

JoVE Science Education
Video database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. Includes video textbooks, peer-reviewed journal articles with text and video formats, and a video encyclopedia of advanced research experiments.
AccessAnesthesiology
This comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content optimized for viewing on any device. Includes leading anesthesiology textbooks, preparation guides for in-service exams and boards, practice guidelines with concise tables and algorithms, procedural and conceptual videos, and 100+ patient cases from Case Files and Morgan & Mikhail’s Clinical Anesthesiology.
AccessMedicine
From McGraw-Hill Medical, this comprehensive online medical resource provides over 100 key medical reference texts. Also includes medical news, quick reference tools and diagnostic tests, infographics, drug information (including dosages, trade names, and pricing), multimedia presentations and video, cases with practice questions, study tools, and patient education information. Users can create a free MyAccess profile to enhance engagement with the resources.

CDC Data Center
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the U.S. agency responsible for monitoring public health, and providing useful information to medical professionals, and citizens. Use the data center for data, statistics, and visualizations on various health topics. Other data resources from the CDC include:
- Global Diseases and Threats
- National Center for Health Statistics
World Health Statistics
Access annual statistics reports from the World Health Organization
Kentucky Public Health Data Resource Guide
Access public health data from various state health-related surveys
Northern Kentucky Health Department: Health Data, Plans, and Reports
View the community health assessment and Community Health Improvement Plan, in addition to data related to health equity in the area.
HealthData.gov
US government healthcare datasets on clinical care provider quality information, nationwide health service provider directories, consumer product data, community health performance information, government spending data, etc. Coverage: Federal and state.

MeSH Thesaurus
The Medical Subject Headings Thesaurus is resource that can help researchers identify subject headings used in PubMed, helping researchers identify the terminology that is used currently by medical professionals.
National Library of Medicine
Health information from National Library of Medicine.
Coverage: varies

Still looking for more information? The guides below are related to Nursing & Allied Health and could be useful for your research.